Blogging Into Silence

When I wrote under another name, my blog got between 100 and 200 hits a day. Even with no new content for the past couple of months, it still gets between 50 and 100  hits a day. I was also part of a writing group that meant that I got feedback from half a dozen people or more on every story I posted.

Now. what I mostly get is silence.

On a good day, this blog get thirty hits. On a slow day, maybe five hits.

So why am I still here?

What is the point of blogging into silence?

Perhaps it doesn’t need to have a point?

I don’t have a political agenda. I’m not trying to sell anything. I’m not even trying to win friends and influence people.

I need to write. It’s just the way I’m built. The process of writing brings me pleasure. That used to be enough for me, but over the past ten years, I have developed a hunger to be read.

I want is to share my experience. I want my stories to be enjoyed. I want to express the pleasure I get from the books I read and I want somewhere where I can follow my own thoughts with enough discipline to make them clear to others.

So I blog.

So many other people blog.

In the hope of connecting.

In the need to be heard

In the desire to have meaning.

And if I blog into silence, then at least the silence is not of my making.

6 thoughts on “Blogging Into Silence

  1. I know what you mean. My hits on my author blog are anywhere between 100 and 30 while my personal blog sees more like 18. It’s the one I enjoy the most, though, because it;s more fun, and in the end I’m really blogging for me, anyway 😉

    • Hi Joleene,

      I guess folks come to the author blogs when they’re in them mood to settle down and read some fiction while they read the personal blog while their “grazing” on the net.

      I’m starting to see that the blog entries also help clear my head so that I get focus on some story writing.

      BTW both your blogs look good to me. Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

