Graffiti with punctuation?

I just watched “Contagion“, Soderbergh’s realistic but remarkably unengaging movie about a global pandemic.

There was one line in it that made me laugh out loud. In an argument with a blogger/journalist who describes himself as a writer, one of the scientists says:

“Blogging is not writing. It’s just graffiti with punctuation.”

So here I am, shaking a spray paint can in each hand and wondering what to spread across my own personal graffiti space.

I’m not in the mood for a self-portrait -besides,  right now everything would come out grey and blurred, as if it had run in the rain.

Claiming territory has always reminded me too much of my dog, dashing from tree to tree, cocking his leg and going “This is mine, and this is mine, and this is mine and this mine…” until he could pee no more.

Not all graffiti is self-aggrandizing vandalism.  Sometimes, the graffiti turns a blank wall, designed to keep us apart, into a space that evokes a sly smile or a subversive smirk. The best graffiti stay true to its simple roots but surprises us with visual tricks that make the mind reconsider what it sees.

In the UK, Banksy has changed graffiti into art (or perhaps the other way around). I’m now starting to see some of his images showing up in Swiss cities. He fits in well.

If my blog could match Banksy’s graffiti then I’d be a proud man.

Below are some of my favourite Banksy images.

The first one seems almost like a comment on blogging

The second one captures that determination to have fun despite the restrictions that people place on us.

The last one shows the world as would like to believe it might be, with even those who watch over the rules, secretly inciting us to break them. Given recent British court cases with under-cover policemen lieing under oath, this seems a timely idea.

One thought on “Graffiti with punctuation?

  1. I don’t even know how I ended up right here, but I assumed this publish used to be great. I don’t recognize who you might be however certainly you’re going to a well-known blogger in case you are not already. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

