“Ashes To Ashes – Kovac and Liska #1” by Tami Hoag – my first DNF of 2016

Ashes To Ashes.jpg

I bought this because the series is popular, audible.com had it for $4.95 and I was in the mood for something new.

It turned out that this wasn’t what I was in the mood for and even$4.95 seemed to much to pay.

If “Ashes To Ashes” was a much shorter book, it would make an average, serial killer, police procedural novel. At its present length it grinds along at a very slow pace with way too much detail being given to the gruesome bits. The book has all its clichés lined up: twisted but intelligent serial killer, FBI man having a mid-life crisis, ex-FBI woman trying to create a new life on the side of the angels but being messed around by her unfinished business with the FBI man. Battle-scarred cop who always tries to do the right thing, even when that means disobeying instructions and self-serving and astonishingly stupid politicians (actually, in a year when Trump is a leading candidate for the Republicans, perhaps stupid shouldn’t be astonishing) who keep getting in the way.

I couldn’t bring myself to wade through all this at the pace that was being imposed by me. Life is too short, so it went on my Did Not Finish pile.

One thought on ““Ashes To Ashes – Kovac and Liska #1” by Tami Hoag – my first DNF of 2016

Leave a Reply

