“The Bullet Catcher’s Daughter” by Rod Duncan- good ideas strangled by terrible writing

The Bullet Catcher's DaughterI couldn’t resist buying this one: great title, striking cover art, a steampunk setting and the first in a series. It had to be worth a read. Except that it wasn’t. I gave up after ninety minutes of this ten hour audiobook.

There’s a lot to like in “The Bullet Catcher’s Daughter”: a truly original take on an alternative nineteenth century England; a brave and tenacious heroine who has to pretend to be a man in order to do what needs doing (which not only allows gender issues to be highlighted but gives lots of opportunities for cross-dressing fun); a tongue-in-cheek attitude that salts the whole thing with dry humour and big, impressive Victorian machinery.

Normally, I’d have settled down to this with the same kind of smile I have on my face when I’m reading the one of the “Parasol Protectorate” books but my enjoyment was destroyed by the faux-Victorian language. It was distressingly inauthentic, producing the distracting dissonance that one experiences when listening to a non-native speaker trying to use the vernacular of one’s own language. It may be amusing for a short time but it quickly becomes wearisome. I was expecting pastiche but what I got was clumsy parody that rendered the dialogue lifeless and crippled the attempts at humour.

I’m aware that this is a very popular series, so perhaps the fault lies with my expectations but this one was added to my Did Not Finish pile.

One thought on ““The Bullet Catcher’s Daughter” by Rod Duncan- good ideas strangled by terrible writing

Leave a Reply

