“The Silvered” by Tanya Huff – sent the audiobook back rather than listen to the narrator murder the text

The Silvered AudiobookI’m a big fan of Tanya Huff, so I’ve been looking forward to settling down for twenty hours with one of her stand alone fantasy novels, “The Silvered”.

I had a long drive to make today so I thought it would be the perfect time to make a start. After forty minutes I had to pull over and select a different novel to listen to.

It’s not that I didn’t like “The Silvered”. I’m still looking forward to reading it. I bought the ebook this evening.

I just couldn’t listen to Dee Macaluso murdering the text. She managed dialogue well enough but anything that wasn’t direct speech  was delivered in a dull rhythm that was irrelevant to the content of the text but was spattered with  enough inappropriate emphasis to be too hard to ignore.

Perhaps it could be re-recorded by Marguerite Gavin, who did such a good job of Tanya Huff’s “Confederation” series.

 

Leave a Reply

